top of page
  • Writer's pictureKit Flemons

How I came to be in Berlin.

Updated: Jul 15, 2020

On the other pages of this website you can find my CV and professional experience, so here I will give a brief personal introduction.

I’m 32-years-old and first visited Berlin when I was 19; I admit that I fell in love with the city for all of the clichéd romantic reasons - glamorous stories of Cold-War espionage, Iggy Pop and David Bowie, the bright lights of the Fernsehturm and the dark streets of Kreuzberg. This city was the focal point of the 20th Century and sloughed off a terrible past to become an inspiration for the 21st.

For the next decade I kept visiting, during which I worked in multimedia at a school, ran a musical instrument shop and did occasional work in graphic design and musical performance. I started learning German (I understand how a learning a new language can be both frustrating and exciting) and became more and more determined to live here. Finally, two years ago and with Brexit looming, I turned another passion of mine - the English language - into a career. I got my Trinity CertTESOL teaching qualification, applied for my Irish passport (just in case) and, after gaining teaching experience at home, resolved that my next flight to Berlin would be on a one-way ticket.

And so, In January of 2019, I found myself here in Berlin - a seventh time after thirteen years - and no less in love.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page